Over the past two weeks I’ve jumped into my inquiry (it’s been a long jump).  The experience has been good so far – albeit a little chaotic at times as I try to get my mind around what I’m actually doing!  Although I should never need an excuse to think deeply about my practice, I appreciate that I am pushed to do so as part of the requirements for the program I’m in.  Hopefully this practice of regular reflection will move from scheduled and required to habitual and organic.

I’ve started off my inquiry with an interview series called “Looking Through the Rear-View Mirror” for my afternoon students.  Over the course of two weeks they will interview four very diverse groups of people: aboriginal elders, senior citizens, successful business executives, and recovering drug and alcohol addicts.  The questions my students prepared are quite deep and will bring to light some of the values, beliefs, and attitudes from the people interviewed.  Throughout the interview process and afterward they will examine their own values and beliefs about life in light of the experiences and thoughts from older (and hopefully wiser) people.  I told my students at the very outset that this series is probably one of the most authentic experiences they will have in my class – in part because it extends well beyond the four walls of the classroom and partly because I can’t control what will actually happen in the interviews.  This is the type of learning that excites me as a teacher!  It’s an adventure!  And the best part about it is that my students are also excited.  I have noticed numerous different examples of increased student engagement throughout these last two weeks and will blog about some of these at a later time.

