It’s been two months now since I’ve posted anything.

It isn’t because I don’t have enough material to write about; I feel like I could quit teaching and spend all my time writing…only that would be counterproductive because everything that I have to write about comes from my teaching.  No, I haven’t posted anything for these last two months because I don’t feel like I have the time.  Actually, that’s not true – I have time but I’m choosing to spend it doing other things.  Like spend time with my wife and eight month old son.  Like going for a bike ride to get some exercise and clear my mind.  Like helping out around the house a little bit.  Like marking and lesson planning.  Like meeting with a friend for a coffee.  In an effort to bring some balance to a life that always seems to straddle that fine line between balance and unbalance, blogging my reflections on teaching and learning is pretty low on the totem pole of priorities.

But here’s the dilemma.  I want to blog.  I’ve benefited not only from taking the time to write out my thoughts and reflections, but from your thoughts, questions, comments, and observations.  I’ve had the opportunity to personally meet with some of you who I’ve connected with through blogging.  It has enriched my teaching and by some amazing alignment of the stars and planets, there are some of you in the blogosphere who have benefited from what I’ve had to say.

So here is my solution.  I’m about three classes into the final year of my masters degree (a masters in educational practice at SFU), and part of the course is weekly assigned readings that I have to respond to.  Instead of keeping all of these responses private, I’ve decided that I’m going to blog my reflections on at least one of my readings each week.  In fact, I would like to blog most of my written assignments if possible and would love if you could benefit from all the work I’ll be doing.  I would also love to hear your comments and thoughts as I go along.

Feel free to join with me on my learning journey!

